Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Statement



Adopted October 2022

The Department of Music and Theatre at Iowa State University aims to fully embrace the ideals of diversity, equity, and inclusion as core values where all feel welcomed, respected, and heard. We recognize these to be imperatives to healthy learning, working, artistic, and social environments. We recognize the creation of an inclusive climate will be a work in progress and will require ongoing reform and attention. We aim to engage proactively in work to combat inequity and to cultivate a caring and supportive community through mutual trust and respect.

We aim to incorporate strategies including creating a culture of inclusive dialogue, listening, education, engagement, and action. We commit to creating and maintaining an equitable environment of belonging. We will recognize and support the work of all our community members through institutional representation, resources, research, and education. We commit to the regular review of curricula ensuring inclusion of multiple perspectives including the presentation of diverse musical and theatrical programming.

We are committed to respecting differences; accepting multiple perspectives; and striving to identify, disrupt, and rectify bias, prejudice, and oppression in our classrooms and community. We also aim to provide an equitable and safe environment that embraces and respects all people, regardless of their race, ethnicity, gender identity, age, body size, ability status, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, first-generation status, veteran status, socio-economic status, citizenship status, and/or national origin.

We firmly believe that these core values are fundamentally essential to the creation, performance, and study of music and theatre and we are committed to fostering an environment where all feel respected, seen, heard, and welcomed. We will strive for each member of our community to have an equal opportunity to thrive and to take full advantage of the resources afforded by the Iowa State University Department of Music and Theatre.