Cyclone Virtual Honor Band


ISU Wind Ensemble with Julie Giroux

2021 Cyclone “Virtual” Honor Band

Friday, February 5      

10:00 am – Noon

Registration deadline is Monday, February 1 at 1:00 pm

We are proud to host our Cyclone Honor Band event virtually this year!  This will consist of two parts: a workshop with two outstanding music educators, followed by a rewarding masterclass with the ISU music faculty member for your students’ specific instrument.

There are no fees for students or directors.  To participate, students (and directors, if you would like to access these sessions) need to individually fill out this registration form by Monday, February 1 at 1:00 pm:

REGISTER HERE    Register early as space is limited.

After you register, you will be sent the link to the Zoom meeting.  The second hour will send everyone to “breakout rooms” for instrument masterclasses with our faculty.

If you’d like to have your entire band watch the first hour in your bandroom, then the Band Director would need to complete the registration form, so s/he can access this session. You could put this on an overhead screen for your entire band to enjoy!

All students who complete the two-hour event will receive a certificate of participation. 

Here is the schedule:

Friday, February 5, 2021       

10:00 am         Welcome from Michael Golemo, ISU Director of Bands and Christian Carichner, ISU Associate Director of Bands

10:05-11:00 am    Workshop with Pat Sheridan and Michele Kalo

  • Pat Sheridan is a world-class tuba artist and co-author of “The Breathing Gym"
  • Michele Kalo is the director of the award-winning Gilbert Classical Academy, the Scottsdale Concert Band, and founder of Sonic Arts

Pat Sheridan and Michele Kalo will be with us in 2022 as the conductors for next year’s Cyclone Honor Band

11:00-Noon     Masterclass with the Iowa State faculty member for your instrument:

  • Flute:  Dr. Sonja Giles
  • Oboe:  Amy Christensen
  • Bassoon:  Kevin Judge
  • Clarinet:  Dr. Gregory Oakes
  • Saxophone:  Mike Giles
  • Trumpet:  Dr. James Bovinette
  • Horn:  Josh Johnson
  • Trombone:  Dr. Nathan Dishman
  • Euphonium & Tuba:  Christian Carichner
  • Percussion:  Dr. Jonathan Sharp

Questions?  Contact Mike Golemo at