TBΣ - Theta Xi - Membership

Most classes choose to recognize an honorary member near completion of its membership education program. These people are typically selected as a result of of their outstanding service and committment to the Iowa State band program. Occasionally, the chapter as a whole will choose an outstanding individual who's actions merit the reception of this award. Recipients whom have received honorary membership into Tau Beta Sigma on behalf of the Theta Xi chapter include the following:

NameContributionConferring Class
Dennis GoeringAlpha Class, 1994
Annie SosallaAlpha Class, 1994
Pauline Ruth SmithDelta Class, 1997
Dustin David SeifertEta Class, 2000
Shirley BarnesSecretary of Iowa State bandsIota Class, 2001
Dr. Barry LarkinAssociate Professor of PercussionKappa Class, 2002
Jeff JohnsonIowa State University Director of AlumniLambda Class, 2003
Gary KleptachAssociate Director of BandsLambda Class, 2003
John Philips Sousa, IVPreserving the legacy his great-grandfather createdTheta Xi Chapter, 2004
Dr. Sue HaugChair of the Department of MusicNu Class, 2005
John Burnett-LarkinsAnnouncer for the ISUCF"V"MBNu Class, 2005
William StaubAssistant Director of BandsUpsilon Class, 2011
Steven SmythAssociate Director of Bands, Director of the ISUCF'V'MBPhi Class, 2012

Last Updated: 11/19/15