1969 Spring Break Concert Tour

Tour Poster

Acton Ostling Jr. -- Director of Bands

Gary Behm -- Assistant Director of Bands

President - Gregory Madsen
Secretary - Carol Goodwin
Librarian - Mary Pascale
Equipment Manager - Alan Spohnheimer
Uniform Manager - Wayne Dowling

Town Piper Music
Symphony for Band
Concertino for Woodwind Quintet and Band
Elegy and Fanfare - March
Prelude and Fugue in E Minor
Adagio and Allegro
Second Prelude
A Short Ballet for Awkward Dancers
George Washington Bicentennial March
Two Napoleonic Marches
Highlights from Mame
Blues in the Night (trombone section)
Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise (flute section)
plus Selected Solos and Ensembles
Richard Mohaupt
Morton Gould
Aaron Copland
Newell Long
Roger Nixon
Bach, arr. by William Rhoads
Vaclav Nelhybel
Gershwin, arr. by John Krance
Herbert Hazelman
Gade, arr. by John Krance
John Philip Sousa
Ferdinando Paer
Herman, arr. by John Krance
Mercer, arr. by John Ness Beck
Romberg, Hammerstein, arr. by John Ness Beck
Sunday, March 2 

Monday, March 3 

Tuesday, March 4 

Wednesday, March 5

Burlington Junction, Missouri
Cameron, Missouri
Quincy, Illinois (3 programs) 

Knoxville, Iowa
Perry, Iowa
Greenfield, Iowa
Red Oak, Iowa
Corning, Iowa
Hoover HS, Des Moines, Iowa


Janet Reid, Glen Ellyn, Ill.

Mary Pascale, Sioux City
Janet Reid, Glen Ellyn, Ill.
Ann Schroeder, Mason City
Francine Winslow, Belle Plaine
Becky Kiser, Audubon
Susan Trexel, Ames
Carol Toenjes, LeMars
Jacklyn Sayers, Humboldt
Jane Brown, Anamosa

Bonnie Reinertson, Atlantic
Virginia Gilkey, Cedar Falls

English Horn
Gary Dannenbring, Fort Dodge

David Howell, Boone
Mary Ellen Imlau, Kensett

E flat Clarinet
Jerome Verlin, Baltimore, Md.

Jean Thompson, Clinton
John Proescholdt, Cedar Rapids
Katharine Pohl, Ames
Carol Toft, Story City
Kenneth Davis, Tipton
Linda Lee, Alta
William Coppock, Cedar Rapids
Gary Dannenbring, Fort Dodge
Mary Scott, West Des Moines
Nancy Townsent, Britt
Jeanne Musil, Spencer
Mary Jo Patterson, Ames

Alto Clarinet
Mary Orcutt, Clarion
Joyce Tippett, Belle Plaine
Ronald Frazier, Cedar Rapids

Bass Clarinet
Lynn Hansen, Duluth, Minn.
Gregory Madsen, Winterset
Jacqueline Smart, Bettendorf

Contrabass Clarinet
Jeffrey Klomp, Lime Springs

Alto Saxophone
Lois Hugins, Clear Lake
Teryl Frey, Ames
James Tinker, Cherokee

Tenor Saxophone
Harlan Hanson, West Union

Baritone Saxophone
Larry Felton, Neola

Dwight Wages, Cameron, Mo.
John Hemingway, West Branch
Donald Noid, Marshalltown
Richard DeBer, Ames
Steven Timmer, Rock Valley
Rodney Biensen, State Center

Craig Nelson, Coon Rapids
Philip McCleary, Dexter
Charles Harwood, Washington, D.C.

French Horns
Douglas Kirk, Ames
Lance Hafer, Schenectady, N.Y.
Valya Nelson, Park Ridge, Ill.
Charles Morrill, E. Peoria, Ill.
Patricia Colin, Hawkeye
Barbara Johnson, Williamsburg
Pamela Bartley, Eagle Grove
Perry Hanson, Mason City

Douglas Peterson, Sioux City
James Charlier, Story City
Roger Bissell, Cumberland
Nelson Spohnheimer, Ames
Charles Collins, Bettendorf
Jean Mowry, Randall

Bass Trombones
Frederick Simpson, Edwardsille, Ill.
Stephen Shiery, Adel

Alan Spohnheimer, Ames
Harlan Lemke, Dows
Robert Johns, Mt. Prospect, Ill.
Wayne Dowling, Sioux City

William Elliot, Strawberry Point
William Vosburg, Grinnell
Douglas Hertz, Nevada

String Bass
Peter Lowther, Burlington

Martha Webb, Centerville

DeAda Clark, Dubuque
Craig Claussen, Schleswig
Peter Kruse, Spencer
Carol Van Horn, West Des Moines
Walter Senchina, Waterloo
George Spevacek, San Jose, Cal.

DeAda Clark, Dubuque

back to page four