Edgar W. and Margaret MacDonald Stanton Memorial Carillon

Stanton Memorial Carillon

Carillon Festival 2002 (October 4 - 6)
Carillon Composition Competition


To encourage the writing of original carillon compositions by young composers.


  • One cash award of $500.
  • Premiere performance of the winning composition at the Carillon Festival.
    Upon acceptance of the award, it is understood that the rights for the premiere performance will be granted by the composer to the ISU Carillon Festival.

Composition Requirements:

  • The submitted work shall be an original composition for four-octave carillon (tenor C to C4), with a two-octave pedal board (tenor C to C2).
  • The composition may be a solo, a duet for one carillon or a work for carillon with one or more other instruments or chorus.
  • A transcription or arrangement will not be accepted.
  • The composition shall be 4 to 7 minutes in length.
  • The submitted work shall never have been published, awarded a prize in another competition, or performed publicly.
  • A composer may submit more than one work.


  • The composer must not have been born before October 4, 1967.


  • John Courter, Jeffrey Prater, and Tin-Shi Tam.
  • The judges reserve the right not to award a prize if the submitted compositions are not of a satisfactory level.
  • The decision of the judges is final.

Instructions for submission:

  • Submit three copies of the composition.
  • The composition must be postmarked no later than Friday, September 13, 2002.
  • The submitted composition must be legible.
  • The composer's name shall not appear on the composition.
  • Along with the three copies of the composition, include a small sealed envelope that contains within the composer's name, address, phone number and birth date. The title of the composition is to be placed on the outside of the small envelope. The small envelope will be opened only after the judges' decision is made.
  • Submitted compositions will be returned only if a self-addressed and stamped envelope is provided.

Winning compositions of previous competitions:

1995 Tree Modes for carillon by Amy Michelle Black, Waco, Kentucky

Lux Aeterna for carillon by Mark Storey, Auckland, New Zealand

Honorable Mention: Echo for carillon and mixed chorus by Amy Michelle Black, Waco, Kentucky

1997 By de dei lâns (The proceedings of the day) for carillon by Klass R. R. de Haan, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2000 Honorable Mention: Driving Rain for carillon by Keith Jenkins, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Campanarium I for carillon by Neil Thornock, Provo, Utah.

Submit materials to:

Carillon Composition Competition 2002
Iowa State University
Music Department
149 Music Hall
Ames, IA 50011


For more information, call (515) 294-2911, or e-mail: tstam@iastate.edu